NEW(3/22/2024) UE5.5+ feedback: Please Invest In Actual PERFORMANCE Innovations Beyond Frame Smearing For Actual GAMES.

Thank you ALL who voted this topic, in only 11 months it has replaced previous #1 feedback thread made 3 years ago. As of now, 5.4 does not tackle a lot of the issues stated here. We did get a major performance improvement from Lumen reflections and slight bump in traditional raster you would see in basepass, but Lumen GI and TSR have canceled out any performance improvements because they became much more expensive. Here was a small, but recent stress test.

Who's posting this.

I’m a writer and director working on a game title. I have independently studied game development for 5 years and began working with Unreal a couple years ago to learn it like the back of my hand. I see clear issues and ideals stemming from the top dogs incharge of UE and they need to be addressed before any next version release. I’m not a graphics programmer, but know enough about pipelines, production, and have many references that show the serious issues.

For better or worse. Unreal surpasses any public game engine(even some in-house) due to years of documentation, years of optimizations, a huge library of free assets, plugins, and it’s easy to find UE experts to hire(If you are a big budget studio) due to its massive popularity.

If such a popular engine like unreal doesn’t fix MAJOR problems like the ones explained below. Gamers will be (and already have) the ones to suffer the consequences, to some an extent even game studios.

The current path of UE5 is focused on virtual production and “games” made to run on insanely expensive hardware nowhere near purchasable by consumers(I.e. 4090’s, even overkill 4070’s)
Too much of UE5’s workflow is completely backwards for specifically game development (which is over shadowed by the many uses of UE today)…