Sprigs Devlog #6: The Floor is Lava?!? Physical Material Experiments

1/6/23

** Sprigs Devlog Mini-Update: **
First stages of my Verse UI Dialog System. :heart_eyes: :speech_balloon:

I haven’t finished the fancy Sprigs version of this yet, so no fun screenshots/vids to share. But if you wanna see the first iteration of the Sprigs UI Dialog system I’ve posted some videos here and a snippet in the Snippet Repository. I loved programming this.

Gamedev is such a perfect creative medium for me, because I get to exercise both my wacky artistic side and my mathy/logic brain. I’m still a programming beginner, and art comes more naturally to me. But I love coding, so my goal is to script as much of my game myself as possible, and create some basic Verse tutorials so I can inspire other creators to get hyped about Verse. :heart_eyes: :raised_hands: :keyboard:

=========================================================================================================================

12/23/22
Sprigs Devlog Update #6:
Physical Material Experiments - Footsteps, pickaxe hits, whatever this is, lmao:

Turn your volume up for this video ^

(Btw this my ongoing devlog for my plant shop game called Sprigs, which I’ll be releasing alongside UEFN’s Public Beta. )

Ever notice the “Phys Material” setting in the Details panel for your custom Materials, and in the parameters for your Material Instances? This determines the SFX and VFX produced by a player’s footsteps, jumps, and pickaxe hits on a surface. Some Physical Materials even alter player movement, like Ice (slippery!) and Lava (ouch!).

Here are some pickaxe hit VFX differences:

SprigsLog_PickTypeGIF