Video memory has been exhausted

Is this a bug?

I have been working in UE5 for a few months building an environment… recently this error message pops up on my screen and says:

Video Memory Exhausted (#### MB over budget). Expect extremely poor performance.

fps is still relatively good, 50fps. I can still move around the environment with ease and no lag.

It seems no amount of performance optimization is actually making this go away.

It’s very annoying to look at.

16 Likes

Hi @nanonansy,
To find the problem open Windows Task Manager → Performance. Scroll down to GPU and have a look at how much Dedicated GPU Memory. Mine is 0.3/2.0 GB as it is an Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 below Recommended 4GB, or like the RTX2030 8GB.
I believe someone messed around with the UE5 code to change this ie, stopped the message displaying, but Nanite offloads work to the GPU in UE5

2 Likes

Hi @Jimbohalo10 ,

Thanks so much for your reply!

My dedicated GPU Memory is currently at 7.1/8 GB

I think this message popped up after I started using Nanite. Hmmm, maybe I should just revert back for now since I got rid of all the nanite meshes in my scene.

Any idea how I can get rid of the message otherwise? It’s just so annoying seeing it there all the time.

Thanks again :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Well, I found the Source code for the message section. Assuming you have built and run your code comment out the lines. 3189 and 3190 of
Engine\Source\Runtime\Renderer\Private\SceneRendering.cpp

It’s too complex to work out why. Here is the code

4 Likes