Real light settings vs unreal settings

Hello, I am a bit confused on what settings to use for lighting in Lumen. I noticed the Meerkat Demo uses real world settings, the sun is around 170,000 lux vs Valley of the Ancient the sun is aprox 2.9 lux. I was just wondering if this is to work better with Lumen or just a choice on how to work?
If anybody has some documentation to share or can point me on why the difference in settings I would really appreciate it.

Thank you.

I’m not a pro at all, just studying. I used to work with real light settings and found that 100k lux works well with the sun (12-13 EV for day setting).
0 or even -1 EV looks strange for me.
But it’s very interesting what the pros have to say.

I believe in the lumen livestream the developers mentioned that UE5 lumen (at least in EA) wasn’t fully compatible with real-world lighting values. That could very much be changed in 5.1, but I wouldn’t actually know what changes were made.

That being said, the developers did hand-tweak the albedos of the rocks from the megascans defaults. What’s an art direction vs. physical accuracy choice I could not tell you.

Lumen clamps ray intensity which means it doesn’t work correctly with high intensity directional lights, generating unrealistic bounce light and over-shadowing. This is apparently done to prevent fireflies.

For reasons I don’t really understand, light leaking is also much worse with a high intensity directional light. Requiring much thicker walls to avoid leaking in dark areas.

1 Like

Yes, I remember them mentioning that now. I believe they said they doubled the maximum ray energy in 5.1 because they had improved sampling and denoising tech and could get away with it.

Is it particularly with a directional light?

I just noticed that the default starting scene from Architecture profile (with water one) uses the sun with 75000lux. The leaking is here though too…