Question about the new sky component and the metallic property.

Hello!

So i’ve followed to tutroial and created a pretty nice water material, but for some reason, with the new sky atmosphere component, the lightning in itself does not reflect on my water.

I’ve noticed that whenever i put up my metallic (which is how i make the water look… well… watery) the entire thing just turns to black. i assume this has something to do with the fact that the light from the new Sky Atmosphere Component isn’t projected on the material in itself, so maybe htere’s a setting i’ve missed?

Attached is some pictures on the code in itself, how it looks with the new sky component, and how it looks without it.

Hope you’re able to help me! Thank you!

Also, i am extremely new to light settings and materials, so show mercy please :slight_smile:

Hello MartinGFA,

Everybody begun somewhere, so first a few tips on materials: If what you want to depict is not metal set it to 0, otherwise set it to 1. Unreal Engine 4 uses the PBR-metal workflow, meaning it uses a physical accurate shader to render all kinds of materials, distinguishing between metals and non-metals (also known as dielectrics). So a metallic value not strictly equal to 0 or 1, doesn’t make a lot of sense. The second point is because this is a PBR-metal workflow, one doesn’t usually mess with the specular value, if you’re going for a PBR-specular workflow sure, but make sure you’re consistent throughout the whole project. That said, that only applies if you’re going for photorealism. My third point would be, avoid using if or branch statements as they’re not very performant on GPU’s, you can use linear interpolation instead. Conclusively, this isn’t meant to tear you or your work down, those are just some guidelines, I’d recommend following. Further I recommend this article of the Unreal Engine 4 documentation: Materials | Unreal Engine Documentation .