Is someone here using DDO with Ue4?

I am a programmer who recently got into modelling and I just saw an addon for photoshop called quixel DDOand I am not 100% sure what it does and if I can use it with unreal engine.

I saw this video DDO & 3DO Workflow Primer - YouTube which showcases the workflow of DDO and it seems like it’s doing 2 things. You can easily create masks with it and it has predefined materials.

My best guess on how I would use it for Ue4 would be to texture my model with the material library in DDO. But I obviously can’t just import the materials in Unreal Engine 4 so I think I can just export all the different textures and masks and then I can try to recreate the materials in Ue4.

Is this the purpose of DDO?

You use masks to edit the texture in ddo using material and environmental presets that correspond with what color you choose for a specific portion of your surface. You create the diffuse, specular, gloss, height, and normal map with ddo which can then be imported into ue4 for use on your model/environment. There is another program that is seemingly more powerful called substance which does all of this and more. You are able to tweak the material settings within the editor for further modifications, whereas in ddo you can’t edit the presets effect on your texture once it has been exported. This is what I am able to infer from the video tutorials, I have neither program but am seriously looking into substance after their ue4 announcement the other day. Hope this helps.

My understanding is that Substance textures are procedurally generated (making them quite flexible) while the new Quixel Suite will use physically based rendering from real HDR surface capture (making them incredibly realistic). Both products honestly look amazing, but I’m personally leaning toward Quixel just for the visuals.
http://dev.quixel.se/](http://dev.quixel.se/)**