How do i dectect/destroy actor when touching an object?

I’ve been looking for around 5 hours now, and am really struggling here. I want to destroy the actor when it hits anything but the player, and I can get the actor to detect other actors, but not the default floor you get in the example map. I would really prefer not changing the floor to a blueprint, as that introduces a lot more manual labour, and was just wondering if there was a simple way to do it. I’m fairly new to unreal engine, and any help would be much appreciated!

I want to destroy the actor when it
hits anything but the player

341883-screenshot-3.png

Here’ we’re checking whether the hit is against the player; if it is not, the actor destroys itself.

Image from Gyazo

The description and the request are somewhat unclear, though. We don’t know how you’re moving things and how the collision is set up. The right approach would revolve around a specific scenario.

There many ways to filter what interacts with what an how. [Collision filtering][2] and using tags are quite reliable.

If the above does not help, perhaps describe how the feature would work in game from the player’s perspective. So we can suggest something that fits right into your already existing system.

Yes, I had tried that. The problem is, anything that is not a blueprint will not call event hit, or anything else for some reason. It interacts with the player just fine, but just rolls around on objects like the floor or stairs without doing anything

Alright, an object would spawn above the players head that faces towards the cursor. Once the LMB is released, it would go flying towards the spot that the cursor was on. This is done in third person.

Physically simulated static meshes do not call hit by default:

Already enabled, enabling it on any static mesh at all doesn’t change anything

So it all boils down to the fact that the physics simulating static mesh cannot detect a hit, is that correct?