[with Video] How can I prevent these fps drops

Hey,

please help me, I am new to Unreal Editor and not yet familiar with all the possibilities.
I would like to create a tile based top-down game in which you can place bombs (currently most similar to bomberman).
Moving, placing bombs, I have no problems, but when I want to draw the explosions, the fps go to ground.

The best way to see this is in the video: explosion fps problem - YouTube

In the first part I took the explosion from the Content Starter Pack. In the second part I removed everything from the explosion except the fireball, the performance has improved, but it doesn’t look so nice anymore.

The important thing is that I want to have an explosion on every tile, which is form-fitted, so a huge one unfortunately doesn’t work because it could cover other, not affected tiles.

Can anyone give me tips on what I could / would have to change to not get FPS drops? If several bombs explode, the whole game slows down and of course it shouldn’t be like that :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance

Hi, first of, your FPS are generally low even without the explosions. What hardware are you targeting, mobile or desktop?

With the explosions your FPS go down due to the pixel shader cost of the explosions (so the bigger the screen portion is that the explosion covers, the higher the cost). Since the explosions use translucent materials that means their cost will add up when overlapping. So if you have one explosion, then you pay a certain cost, if you have two explosions covering the same pixel you pay the cost for both, … (if you would have opaque materials then if they would overlap, then you only pay the cost for the material that is on top but nothing for all the materials that are below, with translucent materials you pay the cost for all materials that are overlapping this pixel added together).

Since you need to keep the materials translucent, you have several options that I can currently think of: