VR - use the WidgetInteraction laser pointer with a mesh

Hi,

I’m new to UE4, but not to game development. I’m working on a VR project, just starting.
I want to have a laser pointer to be used to “click” on objects (triggers, meshes, etc.) I found the WidgetInteraction and have the exact same thing I’m looking for, but as the name applies it works on widgets, is there a way to use the blueprint of the laser pointer on objects or just is there a one deigned for objects?

Thanks.

is there a one deigned for objects

For non-widget objects a simple trace will do it:

Image from Gyazo

Ideally, you’d use a blueprint interface to communicate with targets without the need to cast. So depending on what the trace hits:

• triggers - opens a door somewhere else
  • meshes - gets kicked around
  • tree - timbeeeer!

And all can be done with the same trigger. The implementation of what happens when the generic trace hits is in the target actor.

Hello, thanks for your help.
I am working on a way with ray cast, but as I said before, I’m working in VR so I’m looking into it, my question was for the laser effect to be used as a pointer, in my project the clickable items are meshes and when clicked on an info be displayed like a text, image, or a sound will play, so for the ray cast I think I’ll cast to blueprint and call a function to show the info. But again my question was for a way to use the effect.

Afaik, the interaction component is tracing for widgets components exclusively. But you can leverage its data to an extent:

Or line trace, whatever is needed. And rather than running it on Tick, you’d do something along the lines of:

347297-screenshot-6.png

I’ll be honest with you, I don’t know if that’s will give me what I want, but I’ll try it and see, thanks a lot for the help.