UE5 Model size and Requirements

Hi,

I’m just looking for a quick answer to a question I have, I’ve watched all of the videos and looked at the talk through of the demos, they talk about the models being extremely dense in size and the engine not being fazed by this as shown by the videos and their explanations of the Nanite system.

My question is whether or not there are requirements for these models in terms of LOD’s and if for example I can purchase a 10 million poly/ vertex model from Turbosquid and just drop it into the engine and begin working? or would there be a lengthy process to go through before being able to even consider using it.

I’m looking to create a prototype game using UE5 and I want to know if I can use an already detailed model or would it be better to simply look for someone to model something that may cost more in the long run.

Thank you for any assistance.

Hi @Yoshi090,
I don’t know much about Turbo Squid, but I have had a lot of FREE experience on Quixel Bridge which is built into UE5.

AFAIK there isn’t a DataSmith importer for Turbo squid in the UE5 code

Quixel has given UE5 EA2 Epic Usernames FREE access for Indie dev to its new Nanite library, many exceed 10 million poly/ vertex models, some are very expensive to commercial users.

The whole library will be available in Nanite in 2022. Currently, some models size is 8k resolution.

Quixel Bridge is a plugin enabled in your UE5 project Plugins as a drop-down directly into a layer.

During the download import, you select Nanite format.
Here is a YouTube video that starts at 8:37 for 3D Quixel Assets and it’s FREE. You can start using them now

I know what quixel bridge is, I’ve used that before so I’m okay with all of that. Turbosquid is a 3d model website that you can purchase high poly models from. Some of them are highly detailed to the point where they exceed 15-20 million polygons.