Struggling with lighting artifacts

I’m relatively new to making environments so forgive me if I’ve made a stupid mistake :sweat_smile: .
I’m making an interior space with no windows. Where are these blotches (circled in the image) coming from? The lighting here was built at a medium level, but the blotches appear at every level. I’ve fiddled with the resolution of the lightmaps and adjusted the models many times but I always seem to get these blotches. I’m stumped. I’m using 4.25.3 by the way.

Any ideas why this is happening and how to fix it?

Thanks

Either the lightmap resolution is too low (unlikely), or the lightmap UVs are incorrect (most likely).

You should make a separate UV channel for lightmaps, and set that to be used in the Static Mesh asset editor.

This is the lightmap I’m using. I’ve remade them several times already and get blotches every time. :frowning:

What is the lightmap resolution?
What are the lightmass settings?

The lightmap resolution on this object right now is 520, cranking it up or down doesn’t seem to get rid of the blotches.
These are my world lightmass settings

and the lighting settings for the object (it has an emissive but it’s turned off at the moment)

I would say it’s a combination of your lightmass settings and the lightmap + its resolution!
Either break up the mesh into smaller parts or use a lot higher lightmap resolution… the tinier the island on your lightmap uv, the less lighting information it will get! …smaller than 1 pixel won’t get any information! The islands that are not perfectly aligned with texels /circular, diagonal…/ will highly possible give you bad results…
Your indirect lighting quality is on 4 which also not so high for a perfect result: it won’t give you enough samples in the scene for those small areas… smoothness is on 1 which will blur out the detals…

1 Like