Rts

Hello everyone.

Although I’m still a relative beginner with UE4, despite having it for months. I’ve started to actually focus on one idea and see how far I can take it.

I’m currently working on a RTS, it will be very very similar to the Command & Conquer Generals (mates suggestion after he heard #2 got cancelled). Things I’ve done so far, more than once, with a question.

1. Overhead (RTS) camera, with mouse pan, zoom and edge scrolling. No rotation as of yet, because well C&C never had it. Q; Should I have it follow the terrain?, currently it uses the character blueprint (which I really hate), but I also have a pawn version (which I cannot get to follow the terrain) and I also have a camera actor only version.

2. Left click to select and right click location setting. Currently working on drag selecting (have principle in place).

3. AI behave tree unit, tree checks bool status on if unit is selected and then moves to the location selected with right click.

Things to do (hopefully tonight)

1. Finish drag selection

2. Work out why I can’t set a default home location in the tree without the unit going crazy on first selection.

3. Basic UI (lots of documentation to read on that)

4. Simple building placement.

I plan on uploading pictures after work, I would like to put some videos up to but I’m not sure what the best capture software is for UE4, any suggestions?

This should help taking your project further: [Community Project] Real Time Strategy Game. NEW MODELS AVAILABLE. SEE POST #1 - Community Content, Tools and Tutorials - Unreal Engine Forums

For capture: Camtasia has never failed me!

If you’re looking for a free software to record you can try Open Broadcasting Software :). It’s primary purpose is for live streaming, but it has the option to record locally while streaming or to only record locally. Quality is limited only by the power of your computer.