River tool doesn't work on UE 5.0. Water planes are ludicrous

I just want to add rivers and lakes to my landscape. Lakes are no big deal as I can usually get the water to work one way or another. Rivers and streams,. however, are an entirely different story. I’ve tried the water system and although that is GREAT for surrounding my landscape with water (img 1) I can not get it to work on rivers unless my landscape is basically flat. (Kansas!) As you can see, I’ve marked and sculpted areas for rivers and a lake (img 2) but the river tool spline is useless as it does not create a separate body of water from the main water body. Therefore the water for said river appears far under this elevated portion of the landscape. I’ve tried WaterBody Custom but can’t get it to rotate or angle to compensate for a downward grade (img 3)

Can I just use a normal spline tool and use the water material to create a river? Logic says yes, but I have zero experience with splines so I am not certain.

If anyone has any great ideas on how to make these rivers and streams, and/or has a link to a tutorial that they found resolves this issue, I’d be greatly appreciative!

Cheers

1 Like

Hey there again @RLK_III! I was hoping we got your water woes sorted before but it seems they’ve returned in the form of misbehaving rivers! They should be conforming the landscape to them just as the other water types that we got sorted before. Do they have affects landscape turned on and do they recognize the water zone?

Yeah, me too! LOL

We got lakes working, which is great. But in looking for a more realistic, detailed landscape, I am looking for rivers and streams as well. Edit layers is on, my water zone encompasses my entire map and as you can see by the image, the river tool is not affecting the landscape for some reason (despite that feature being activated.)