Radial Impulse to ignore specified actors

Hi!

So I am relatively new to the Unreal Engine, and I need some help on this specific point that I’ve been stuck on for days.

I want to make an explosion effect, but I don’t want it to affect any of the actors located behind solid objects. To do this, I have created a line of sight check (using the line trace) that returns all actors that are blocked behind solid objects. These actors are then sent into an array where I have hoped that I could ask for an exception from the radial impulse.

The problem is that I can’t get this to work. I’ve spent a lot of time looking for a solution, but nothing ever seems to work. Is there a way to make the radial impulse ignore specified actors, or another way to achieve a similar effect (where the actors in range that are not in the list are pushed away)?

Here’s a cheeky idea. We’ll be dealing damage instead:

• we deal radial damage will falloff on click
  • Damage Prevention Channel is set to World Static

• the wall’s object type is set to World Static as well, it will prevent all damage

353495-staticwall.png

• upon receiving said damage, the physics simulating actor does this:

• untick Vel Change if you want the mass of the object to be taken into account; if you do, you’ll need to crank up the damage value by an order of magnitude, though.

Result:

Image from Gyazo

Explosions on one side of the wall do not affect the objects behind it. Do tell if this is good enough. There’s probably more than one way to handle this. At least you do not need to faff around with traces, arrays, the damage falloff is already included and the built-in interface communications is a breeze.

3 Likes

And if you really need to Ingore (some additional) Actors, there’s an array pin on the node for that.