Pointer to Actor object becomes null for unknown reason

Hey guys,

I’m new to UE4 therefore I may be making a noob mistake/not understanding how UE4 works. I have also posted to UE4 forum at here asking for help, but wanted to gather more information here as well.

Context:
I have an actor called ABattleField, and an editor-only actor component called UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent.
UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent is meant to be a component of ABattleField used to assist the level designers placing static meshes at editor time, and should not appear at all during any gameplay.
The component needs a pointer to ABattleField; therefore, I’ve decided that when an ABattleField object is constructed, it should also do CreateDefaultSubobject<UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent>, and assign itself to the newly created component’s ABattleField pointer.

// BattleField.h
UCLASS()
class MYGAME_API ABattleField : public AActor
{
  GENERATED_BODY()

public: 
  // Sets default values for this actor's properties
  ABattleField();

UPROPERTY(VisibleInstanceOnly)
  UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent* Generator;

// ...
}

// BattleField.cpp
ABattleField::ABattleField()
{
  // Set this actor to call Tick() every frame.  You can turn this off to improve performance if you don't need it.
  PrimaryActorTick.bCanEverTick = true;

// Only initialize generator for editors only
#if WITH_EDITOR
  Generator = CreateDefaultSubobject<UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent>(TEXT("Battlefield Generator Component"));
  Generator->SetBattleField(this);
#endif

// ...
}

// BattleFieldGeneratorComponent.h
UCLASS( ClassGroup=(Custom), meta=(BlueprintSpawnableComponent) )
class MYGAME_API UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent : public UActorComponent
{
  GENERATED_BODY()

public: 
  // Sets default values for this component's properties
  UBattleFieldGeneratorComponent();

UFUNCTION(CallInEditor, Category="Battlefield Generation")
  void GenerateBattleField();

private:
  UPROPERTY()
  ABattleField* BattleField;

// ...
}