Material Variation and Blending

Hi folks,

I know similar questions have been asked, but it has been a few years and with UE5 in beta I figured I should ask again, because I generally wasn’t satisfied with those answers or what I could find myself.

I’m an experienced programmer, but total beginner at game development, this is my first time with a game engine, so thanks in advance for putting up with me:

I’m using some megascans surfaces for my terrain and I noticed that the tiling is really obvious.
This seems like a nearly universal problem, so I was a bit surprised that there wasn’t a simple out-of-the-box solution, like having terrain take both a material and a surface imperfection albedo mask.
The tutorials I watched all had people making custom materials and just sampling the texture assets from other materials, which bothered me because it isn’t reusable and violated DRY.
I wanted to be able to apply my macro variation to any existing material with a point and click.

I attempted to make a new layered material that simply applied a macro variation technique (from tutorials) to the layers output, but I discovered that I couldn’t add a material as a material layer. But I knew that material layers can take parameters, so I decided to make a material layer that took a base MaterialAttributes; but a material layer can only have a single MaterialAttributes input (the output of the previous layer). So I decided to just make a regular material that took a base MaterialAttributes param that I could then modify, but it wouldn’t let me add a MaterialAttributes as a material param.

I could make a new material that accepted texture inputs for all the MakeMaterialAttributes, but that would both be tedious to use, and assumes that the material that I want to blend with has no logic and was created entirely from the texture maps.