Download

Long Distance Foilage!

Okay I have been playing around with some of the UE4 Foliage settings such as cull distance,LOD, low poly trees and density. But I am wondering what is the best way of doing trees just for long distances, so it wouldn’t be too performance heavy. I have never seen a UE4 game do this successfully and being optimized. The trees don’t have to be foliage because the map is so massive, the players wouldn’t be able to walk to it, in that case any ideas on making a good illusion of trees? I am just wondering if you guys have any ideas that might help me out? The map I want to create is a very large one 100X100KM.

This is what I mean by long distance trees:

http://www.whistler.com/images/header/whistler-canada.jpg

I’m not really a pro in this area, but it seems to me that it really depends on exactly how close they can get to the trees. I would go as far as saying if they can’t see the full depth of the trees, you could probably just paint on some scattered material to give the look of trees and shrubbery. :wink:

Interesting topic though. I would like to hear some other ideas as well.

OT: That’s a very beautiful scene.

Billboards are already being used? Camera facing billboards are an option aswel? they can have simulated shadows/lighting aswel

Just make very optimized billboards. Either something like the ones you can make in SpeedTree or perhaps even simpler camera facing ones and make sure to reduce the amount of transparency as much as possible. Then just spawn them with procedural foliage or what ever as long as they are instanced. Use distance field shadows to prevent them from looking like ****. Might want to keep a fairly high resolution of the billboards to prevent Mip maps from blurring them too much too close, but that depends on what distance they should be seen at.