Lightning is obliquely

Hey guys,
i just started with ue4 and tried to create my first room. Now i wanted to put lights on the upside of the room and tried to change to source radius and length, so that it looks like a neon lamp (like this [Click here][1])… But the lights are just obliquely and i can’t figure out why… Hope you can help me,
thank you in advantage!

http://puu.sh/muBhu/5b11aec167.jpg

Hey ,
Thanks for your fast answer. But i’m very new in this stuff… Could you maybe help me with one light, so I can learn it? I know what you mean, but I am to bad to do it in UE4… Sorry for the circumstances.

:slight_smile:

Hello DreamblocksTV,

For something like this you might want to try using spotlights. This would allow you to have a direction for the light to emit. This way you can control the direction, attenuation, and the source radius and length without the excess fill light.

I have set up a test to illustrate what I mean. What I have done is set up a cube and placed a spot light inside. I changed the spotlights properties. I will post a screenshot to show the changes I made. I then created a cube with an emissive material. This material does not emit light of it’s own but it will serve to simulate the light source.

The reason I am using a spot light is the control over the Inner and Outer Cone angle. This allows me to give gradual falloff and will give a direction for the light it emits to travel.

I will also link you to our documentation on spot lights so you can research it’s unique properties.

Thanks a lot!! Appreciate what you did there :slight_smile: But I have an other question too… Everytime I’m lighting out a room, there are diagonal “reflection”… I just dont get it, why they are there…

http://puu.sh/mvK48/b35de0fe77.jpg