Lightmaps on meshes created from BPS

As you can see in the picture above, there’s a lot of “wrongness” on my mesh. I never played with lightmaps and stuff, but after reading some about it, I tried to correct the UV on it. Changed the channel to 1, generated new UV map, rebaked lighting for about 10 times (it takes 30 minutes on my great PC and fairly big scene). Nothing seems to help.

My question is: is there a way to generate lightmaps that will look good on meshes created from BSP? I mean, there is no real reason that it would look like that, any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers!

PS: I know that there’s a possibility to easily do that in Maya, but I have no real knowledge of that program. If there’s nothing that can be helped about it inside UE4, do you guys know how to make it look like it looks in the Mesh edit panel? I would much more like to not have baked lightmaps than to have this “glitchiness”.

Hi!

You must to fix some parameters of mesh.

Open your mesh in an Editor.

Increase Light Map Resolution. Default is 4.

Change Light Map Coorditate Index to 1. Default 0.

Click on the little triangle to Show/Hide more options.

Before fix.

Light Map Resolution - 128

Light Map Coorditate Index - 0

Light Map Resolution - 128

Light Map Coorditate Index - 1

I tried doing what you suggested, here are the results:

I don’t know what is causing this, either high resolution of lightmaps or low - it does look ugly as hell. If there’s no way to get rid of that effect, is there any way to turn the lightmaps off completely or get rid of the shadows of mesh, so only the “clean” lightning that shows in static mesh editor is visible in scene? Thanks in advance