Lighting workflow questions

This may be the skylight, which add overal light to the scene. It may also be a post process volume, which some people use to fix the brightness of scene at a known value before using point lights etc.

There’s no global off switch for emissives.

Did you remove the PP?

I’m fairly new to Unreal and I’m trying to learn about lighting. I’ve got a Sci-Fi hallway scene that I got from the marketplace and its a great reference. What I’d like to know is if it’s possible to isolate or solo lights so I can see just their influence in the scene? I couldn’t find anything in the documentation lighting pages. If there’s not a way to isolate lights, is there a way to temporarily turn off a bunch without having to change the value of every light by hand (there are a lot of them!)? How do you normally deal with this?

Thanks!

I have turned off the visibility of the lights and it does look like that has an effect, but even with all the lights turned off (and rebuild the lighting and reflection captures) I’m still seeing lots of light in the scene.

I did just turn on the show-visualize-volumetric light map and the spheres seem lit up. Trying to figure out how to rebuild that with the lights turned off.

I don’t think its the skylight I’ve turned off everything but the static meshes. It would also be helpful to know if there’s a way to globally disable emissive surfaces instead of changing each material.

Sorry, not sure what the PP is. Still very new to this. :slight_smile:

Look in the world outliner ( the list of things in the level ), do you see post processing volume in there. If you do, remove it, and you’ll probably see a difference.

I just found this plugin, may be worth to take a look : Light Explorer in Code Plugins - UE Marketplace

Thanks, I’ll check it out!

Which market asset is it? Maybe I have it…

This one ? Light Explorer in Code Plugins - UE Marketplace (I’m not sure the question was adressed to me :slight_smile: )