Let's FINALLY fix Editor Preferences in UE5

I’ve been using UE4 for several years now, and I am mostly happy user of it, but every time I start a new project on open someone else’s, I get a harsh reminder of how frustratingly neglected one aspect of UE is - handling of Editor Preferences.

As the name “Editor Preferences” suggest, it’s a collection of preferences related to the editor. In other words, completely unrelated to the project. Yet, for some crazy reason, they are always saved with the project. Even things that are matter of ergonomics, such as inverting middle mouse pan direction to be consistent with the DCC package you are using gets saved per project.

Imagine for example if something similar happened in visual studio. If user settings such as keyboard shortcuts were saved within the .sln file and every time you opened someone else’s VS solution, you’d also get their keyboard shortcut customization. Or if you opened someone else’s Photoshop file, it’d change your Photoshop preferences. That would be absolutely crazy, yet this craziness is somehow considered okay in the land of Unreal Engine.

To add to the confusion, UE actually makes an exception for a few specific Editor Preferences settings, such as keyboard shortcuts, derived data cache folder location or color theme (in UE5). This adds yet another layer of confusion, uncertainty and inconsistency, where not all of the Editor Preferences are saved within the project, just vast majority of them.

The Editor Preferences window is full of extremely granular settings for every aspect of the editor, allowing the user outstanding degree of customization. For example look, in just graph editor, I can tweak many different variables to adjust how the curves connecting the nodes look like, or what colors the data type pins have: