Is 48GB RAM Good for Unreal Engine 4/5 ? or 32 GB?

Hello Guys, I have been doing Unreal from past 3 months and it has been very great experience. I have bought my gaming laptop last year for game development but could not start game dev last year cuz of school. In these holidays I started learning and using UE4.

My Laptop is ASUS ROG ZEPHYRUS S17(GX701LV)
with Intel i7 10750H, RTX 2060, 1TB SSD, 16GB RAM.

This Laptop’s RAM is upgradable. It has 1 Empty Slot. The Official Asus Website says that it can be upgraded till 64GB.

On Crucial System Advisor it show 48GB Max( ig it is because no one sells a single 48gb ram stick).

So what should i choose upgrade my laptop to 48GB using 32GB RAM Stick or Should I upgrade to 32 GB using 16GB RAM Stick ??

1 Like

They obviously aren’t talking about storage space.

1 Like

How much RAM you need depends on what you want to do, some reading here:

If you want to cobble mobile games together, you may get away with 16GB. If you’re solo making an MMO, you’ll need more. If you want to take advantage of the UE5’s advanced features - well, check the link. 48GB may not be enough… But it’s Early Access, things may change.

48GB > 32GB obviously.

With a single stick, you’re running single channel. Lowkey irrelevant in certain scenarios, quite noticeable in others.

Intel platforms have Flex Memory Mode so running 1x16GB + 1x32GB should still give you some benefits of the dual channel (conditions surely apply here, though). Is that important to you?

I really don’t know much about hardware but would like to get max performance from my PC and also I want it to work flawlessly in future also. JUST CONFUSED WHETHER TO FOR 48GB RAM IN TOTAL OR 32 GB. I was feeling like more RAM more PERFORMANCE AND RESPONSIVENESS IN GAMES AND GAME DEV. But due to lack of knowledge in hardware I wanted to take suggestion. I did not understand what you said here -conditions surely apply here, though). Is that important to you