How to set up shadows for large landscapes?,How to set up proper shadows in large landscapes

I have this 4 by 4 km landscape imported from a heightmap. I have a basic architectural scene with the default lighting settings. As I get farther from the mesh, shadows fade away like grass does. How do I set up realistic shadows? I am a noob to UE. I Just want ”infinite shadows” sacrificing as less performance as possible. Please help me get the amazing results that made me want to learn UE.

1 Like

It’s probably either distance field shadows and/or cascaded shadow map settings. There’s controls for how far from the camera the shadows are rendered when viewing them. I suggest you go through a few video tutorials in lighting essentials (most are between 3 and 10 minutes long), or at least look at the content examples maps showing how to get particular effects / results. The settings that I think are causing it are as follows:

1. On the directional light (probably named Light Source in the World Outliner, a top right list of all objects in the scene). Click it, go to its details panel (lower right) and scroll down to Cascaded Shadow Maps settings. If the light is stationary (which it most likely is if it’s set to default), increase “Dynamic Shadow Distance Stationary Light”. If the light is movable (can change position and other features at run-time), then change “Dynamic Shadow Distance Movable Light” to increase the distance from the camera that shadows render.
  2. If it’s not enough to do the first step, then also try tweaking the “Cascade Distribution Exponent”, “Distance Fraction”, and “Distance Fadeout Fraction”. Probably need to decrease the Fraction based settings and Exponent…but not certain about that.