How to get position of procedural foliage?

Good day everyone,

I am using the [Redwood Forest Biome][1] world under Unreal Engine 4.26 in relation to a research project combining computer vision and drones. I need to extract the positions (+ some other properties like girth) of the procedural generated trees of the world in order to compute ground truth distances of trees from the drone.

Here is what I have in my main world :

Where the generated foliage is identified as an InstancedFoliageActor class.

I have limited knowledge of UE4 but I understand that if such a query is possible, I would need to insert a c++ function inside a new or existing class which could reach the foliage instances.
I have collected some leads ([How to get locations of foliage instances?][4] and [Accessing Vertex Positions of static mesh][5]) but I’m not sure to understand how to make it work inside an UE4 project.

Taking [How to get locations of foliage instances?][4] for example, I have tried modifying foliage related classes but witnessed nothing in the output log. I feel like I’m passing by something obvious… What am I missing ?

Thanks !

PS: I just need to extract the foliage instances properties once, no matter how, if it can directly be done via the editor terminal I’ll take it !

Hi, I only extracted the foliage with blueprints, but should ofc also work in C++. All the foliage is stored inside the InstancedFoliageActor which you can access through GetActorOfClass. It is stored in the form of HISMCs, so you will have one HISMC per foliage mesh. To access the HISMCs you can use GetComponentsByClass (and input Hierarchical Instanced Static Mesh Component) on the InstancedFoliageActor. Through the HISMC you can then access the static mesh that is associated with that HISMC and the array of transforms (all the instances of it in the world).

With blueprints you can also mark an event/function CallInEditor then you can directly run it from the editor without running the game.