How to do gouraud shading?

I have been trying to figure out how to make a gouraud shading material node setup to mimic an older look in my game. I am not talking about regular vertex shading, I specifically mean gouraud. I read in an old post back from 2015 where a guy by the username “CaptainScience” had mentioned this:

I am not quite sure how to do this in 4.24, or really any version of unreal for that matter. I am still pretty new to this, so excuse me if I don’t quite understand some of the terminology, or node names. You may have to give a screenshot of the node graph as you explain it.

1 Like

Anyone? Please, help.

I really need help with this.

Hi, those are the shading models you have in unreal engine: Shading Models | Unreal Engine Documentation

So you don’t have a gouraud shading model. Therefore it seems to me that you’ve got two options:

(1) Start from one of the existing shading models and use the material editor to “fake” the look of gouraud shading.

(2) Write your own shading model and add it to the existing list.
[HR][/HR]
I’ve got no idea how to do (2), except that it will involve C++ and hlsl, but you can search for something like “ue4 own shading model”, but since you said “I am still pretty new to this”, seems to me that (2) is not an option for you.
As for how to do (1), you might wanna watch some learning videos on epics learning tab about materials Unreal Online Learning - Unreal Engine to get a better feeling for those.

If you’re interested, the most up-to-date tutorial I’ve found is here: Unreal Engine 4 Rendering Part 6: Adding a new Shading Model | by Matt Hoffman | Medium

Unfortunately it requires modifying the engine source and a decent understanding of shader programming, and I’d imagine you’d have to force the engine to use forward rendering to get the per-vertex lighting you’re looking for (deferred rendering can only do per-pixel lighting).