How can I optimise many actors in world?

Hello
I’ve been working on an unreal project for a few years now.
It features thousands of fish skeletal meshes that roam around throughout it, and I was wondering if I could get help with optimization, as I’ve been struggling with framerate for some time.

My current solution (which helps but isn’t ideal):
Separate the open world into many separate levels in a grid and load when near.
This helps but causes a freeze every time the player crosses a boundary

The only problem for optimization is my animal blueprints, they work by moving forward and changing direction a small increment every tick. This isn’t too taxing for 1 blueprint, but x50 at a time and I start to get slowdown.
I’ve tried using simple culling of the blueprint when at a certain distance, but the blueprint still seems to keep holding down frames.

(What the actors look like in-game)

I’ve been stuck on this for some time now, I can’t figure out a way of stopping the blueprint actors from slowing down frames without having to completely unload them from the game.

Any help would be appreciated

many thanks

What about configuring the BPs ( fish ) so they don’t even draw themselves until they’re near the player?

It’s a trival vector calculation for a fish to find out if it’s near the player. Each fish can work it out for itself.

Hi, some things you could try:

(1) for small fishes you could try using particle systems instead of actors, so each fish would be a particle and you place some of those particle systems around, then use a vector field to move the particles (fishes).

(2) Implement some spawn/despawn system. So either destroy and spawn the actors based on distance to the player, but since each spawn/destroy will cost you some time it might be better to only inactivate/reactivate them (disable tick, disable visibility, pause all timers you have running, … so disable anything that uses performance).