Groom Export to Alembic or FBX file format

Hello, I imported a character from Metahumans through Bridge. Everything shows up and is working perfectly, but I was wondering if there was any way to export the Hair/Groom data set as another file type (alembic/fbx/obj)
I’m new to Unreal Engine so sorry if this is an obvious one.
Thanks in advance.

There is no way to export grooms to packages other than UE at the moment.

1 Like

I was curious if there any changes to that?
Truth be told - all I want is to have the ability to cache the groom.
Unreal features multiple caching solution for various features but not for the grooms.
Without caching it doesnt work nicely with Sequencer’s Anti-Aliasing :confused:

1 Like

Actually, you can export Grooms from UE using Ornatrix, (Helps to to go out of UE to make Cards in Blender or 3ds Max, or like me using the temporary 4.26 Automatic Cards Generation Plugin :wink: Then migrate back into 5.2 OH BAAABY! :slight_smile: ,. :~)\

Here is a way you can export GROOMS from Unreal to other tools.
Ornatrix UE: Procedural groom export in UE5 - YouTube] Ornatrix UE: Procedural groom export in UE5 - YouTube

My suggestions is to get 4.26 installed, it came wth a Experimental Cards Generation Tool Plugin :slight_smile: Then migrate Groom with Cards back ito 5,2! :

Hey but can it be done with the free version? 50usd a month only to export some grooms…

1 Like

No. There is no other way at this time, I was surprised to even find this. I would in your case, make screen caps at special informative angles then recreate the Hair in your 3D Program using that info as guides…

For Anyone Reading this now :

Niagara Groom Simulations have been recently patched by the devs.
Check out this recent tutorial released by Epic Games:

Old answer:
I think this answer might be a bit misleading?
(I might be saying that cause I just wasted 50$ on Ornatrix…)