getting started with vr.

hello. im a bit new to game developing. but i understand how things work together in general. ive observed and researched for years, and i did well learning fps setup from a blank template, and my first blueprints. wall running code wasn’t to hard, but before me lies my ultimate goal…VR. and for the life of me i cant find any decent how to or from scratch setup explanations. ive found alot of things that dont exactly work for me. but im at a loss and i could use a bit of redirecting.

in my first game im hoping to include:
arm swinger locomotion (ill substitute joystick at first)
climing
jumping
wallrunning
possibly grapple hook swinging

but running and climbing are most important right now

and in phase 2 i want to learn about guns and interactions. but ill worry about that later.

for now i just cant get vr doing anything but the template.
im pretty sure i can figure out the controlls if i could just get the camera and vr
controllers working with a fresh character. one in which i know every piece that
makes it what it is. im pretty sure that a pawn wont do what i need ether. but
im still learning ue4 so i may be wrong.

can anybody help me get started with vr from scratch. because i dont know where to start.

Let me start by saying that the way the official documentation is organized doesn’t help someone who is just looking for a quick “How to get started”, but as a matter of fact most information is there, you just need to know where to look.

Edit: I have moved the previous content to a Wiki page so all links work properly and it will be easier to maintain it in the future.

many links where broken how ever most of the important stuff was there or i had already found. this is massively helpful.