Friends can join my "Creative" session and my private island without my consent.

Summary

Friends from my friend list get a button on my profile showing “Join game” when I’m on a creative session building my map, which should not be the case, and gave me a jumpscare while I was building and suddenly someone randomly joined my world, without me inviting them. Group privacy is set to private, and the session is just the “Creative” playlist, my island is not published and it’s just a private island. There’s also no option anywhere to make the “Join game” button disappear for others. This does not happen on published maps on discovery, where the “Private” and “Public” toggle appears and the “Private” setting does as expected. (There’s no such button for the “Creative” playlist.)

Please select what you are reporting on:

Creative

What Type of Bug are you experiencing?

Matchmaking

Steps to Reproduce

  1. In one account select the “Creative” playlist, not a published map.

  2. Join the game.

  3. In a separate account click on the profile of the person inside Creative, it should show a “Join game” button.

  4. Click the button and it will matchmake you inside of the other person’s session.

Expected Result

The “Join game” button should not appear and should not let you enter the session of someone in creative who has not invited you.

Observed Result

You can enter anyone’s Creative session and enter their private island.

Platform(s)

Nintendo Switch 2, and mobile. (Tested on both, my main account and a separate one. Same thing happens on both.)

Upload an image

Yeah, the issue here is that the creative mode does not allow you to select between public or private… Exactly like you described… :frowning:

One thing to note is that Party Privacy is different from Matchmaking Privacy.

  • The Party can be Private, but if the party is playing an Public Game, it will be discoverable by others (from social menu, discovery or search).
  • With Matchmaking set to Private, it will prevent players from discovering it (from social, discovery or search). BUT, if they join the party of anyone that are already on the map, they will be able to matchmake to the game since they will “skip” the discoverability part due to already being on the same party as other player.
  • With both Matchmaking and Party set to Private, there is no way to discover or enter the game or the party, unless you invite explicitly the user. This is the highest possible “lockout” format to allow isolated work without interruptions from others.

The problem in your case, as you noted, is that the creative has no option to change between public and private game anymore, and probably it is set as “always public” under the hood. This is a valid concern and the matchmaking privacy should be an option on the creative mode as well.

On normal projects we can even restrict our maps if we want public only, private only, or user select. So this is already possible and should be easy to fix.