Faked Material Reflection help (based on Bullet Train Livestream)

Hi guys im trying to recreated the fake material based ‘reflection’ that was mentioned in the Bullet Train Livestream video at around minute 30 for the billboard

So far i managed to put together most parts of the material nodes by watching the video but im still missing 2 sections (since i cant make them out from the video)

1-the entire opacity section (im assuming it calculates opacity based on distance)
2-a small node connecting to a texture node (im suspecting its a mask perhaps)

This is what i got working so far (using a cute hamster texture :stuck_out_tongue: )

the material is see-through from under the ground and translucent, but thats pretty much it

I’m new to unreal and very bad when it comes to shaders i must admit lol

So i need help to figure out what is missing to finish this material to make it work like in the youtube video it would be great help :slight_smile:

Hints or solutions are all welcome!

Thanks

Hi,
I tried to recreate it too, the same way as you did.
The missing node before texture is a “clamp” , min and max values to default (0,1).
The opacity part:

• Tex coord –> mask G — > lerp node
    with 2 scalar parameters connected to the A and B slot of the lerp node.
    And connect the lerp to opacity.

You say that when you assign your material to a mesh and put this mesh under an other, you see it through?
For me, it didn’t work.
Your material is set to Surface, translucent, unlit, that’s it?

Cool man thanks i’ll add them and test them today after work ! :slight_smile:

For the see-through to work i had to go into the material detail and uncheck an option called ‘use depth buffer’ or something similar (i’ll recheck tonight)

When i unchecked that the material immediately appeared over everything not just the floor plane (which is overkill as i still prefer to have some objects occlude it)