Character mesh disappears at certain camera angles

I have no idea if this is the right place for this thread, but it seemed the most logical. I’m very new to Unreal Engine, coming from Unity, and I’ve got an issue I figure is probably common enough but my googling skills have failed me. I’ve just created a 3rd person character pawn blueprint and it works, but if the camera is too close to the player mesh, the mesh disappears. What’s the best way to keep this from happening?

Sounds like that’s the camera near clipping setting, though if it’s that close maybe you need to make sure the camera isn’t too close to the character.

Where is the near clipping setting? All I can find from google is that its editable in DefaultEngine.ini but that didn’t seem to change anything.

You can edit the near clipping in the general settings inside the projects settings.
But that doesnt fix the issue. I’m having the same problem. Character disappears around the head area at 90 degrees for me. Looking from bellow or from above doesnt seem to make the mesh disappear.
Look inside of the animation editor. There’re you’ll notice that your character isnt having the same clipping errors as in the character blueprint or the editor.
I guess it has something to do with render volumes. But no idea how to fix it. Might be nice if someone has an answer.

Sooooo! just fixed it. Look up the solution here! You have to incrase the bounds parameter in the mesh rendering sector.

7 Likes