Can't compile MetaHuman

I’m new to UE (10+ years of Unity though) and I’m trying to compile a simple project where I put a metahuman.

But I don’t have any luck.

Missing object file C:\Program Files\Epic Games\UE_5.3\Engine\Plugins\Marketplace\MetaHuman\Intermediate\Build\Win64\x64\UnrealGame\Development\MetaHumanSpeech2Face\Module.MetaHumanSpeech2Face.cpp.obj listed in C:\Program Files\Epic Games\UE_5.3\Engine\Plugins\Marketplace\MetaHuman\Intermediate\Build\Win64\UnrealGame\Development\MetaHumanSpeech2Face\MetaHumanSpeech2Face.precompiled

2 Likes

Is there any way to disable Speech2Face? Because I don’t need it and seems that it is enabled by default.

It looks like the MetaHuman plugin itself isn’t packaged properly and doesn’t contain all of the necessary object files to build projects for UE5.3. Aside from MetaHumanSpeech2Face, AutoRigService and MetaHumanPipeline are also missing from the Build output targets.

Since these are dependent on the MetaHumanIdentity module, there’s no way to fix this aside from disabling the MetaHuman plugin completely from what I can tell (for now, at least).

2 Likes

Thanks.

Will try UE 5.2 then :slight_smile:

Having the same problem even with UE 5.2.1.

I’ve tried to disable the plugin and the build succeed but when trying to start the executable I’m getting:

Fatal error: [File:D:\build\++UE5\Sync\Engine\Source\Runtime\RenderCore\Private\ShaderParameterStruct.cpp] [Line: 460] FHairEnvironmentLightingPS's required shader parameter FParameters::RadianceCache::RadianceProbeIndirectionTexture was not set.
1 Like

An empty project worked for me. Just installed UE 5.2.1, created a photostudio example project, imported a metahuman and compiled. Worked for me.

1 Like