Black faces appears on lightmap

Hi,

I am new to Unreal engine and I have some issues with the baked lighting. It bakes black faces sometimes and I would like to understand why. Here is an exemple :

The lighting setup here is still the stock lighting when creating a blank scene (I think):

292381-light-setup.jpg

I’ve read here and there that it is often related to UV unwrap. I am using Blender and, as it is advised, I created 2 UV channels on my mesh.

Here is the first UV channel for my trims:

And here is the second UV channel for the lightmap:

I have also read on another thread that it could be flipped faces or mirrored UVs. So I made sure to double check that as well.

None of the UVs are mirrored on either channel and this is how the normals look inside Blender:

Finally, I’ve read that it could be an [export/import related issue][6] and here, we reach the extent of my knowledge as I am not used to export for Unreal.

Basically selecting Tangent Space option in the Geometry tab of Blender’s FBX exporter breaks tangent bounds in FBX and causes this issue. After I unchecked that option and re-exported my "problematic"meshes, artifacts went away (after rebuilding lighting).

So I tried that, as well as trying out different import settings inside the engine. None of that worked.

Well, this is everything I’ve tried and I am starting to be sad :frowning:

If someone has an idea on how I could fix this, that would help me a lot.

Thank you for your time :slight_smile:

I found the start of an answer. UV rotation is involved. The UV island on the texture UV isn’t rotated in the same direction (rotated 180° to be precise not mirrored just rotated) which is leading to a shading error in Unreal. I don’t have a clue why to be honest ?

Hi!

It should not cause a problem (different rotation) if you have high enough lightmap resolution or enough padding between the uv islands!