AddForce + Timeline interaction frame skipping

Absolute UE beginner here, like 2-3 weeks. All I have is solid coding background in other OOP languages.

Anyhow, I’ve been experimenting with the engine, coming up with various scenario to move things around and have physics applied to them.

I’m not really trying to find a “better way” to do what I’m doing, more so trying to understand why it’s behaving the way it does. Though, if you want to point out other ways to achieve the same result, I’m still all ears as I might learn something new :slight_smile:

I’ve spotted this issue while have a go at various implementation of a Dash ability. Only to realize that with this specific method, he was always moving a teeny tiny more than he should have.

So I reduced the scenario to something quite simple:

• 1 character with character movement
  • Press F
    • Apply force to the character using Timeline

The problem:

• Lingering forces that shouldn’t be there. right ?

At least to me, it seems that the last force applied to the character is not applied on the correct frame.
I don’t understand why and it’s driving me :crazy_face:

Here is the EventGraph blueprint (there’s also a bit of C++ to override the character component for logs, nothing fancy)

The FrameCounter is bumped in the event tick, and that’s all the tick does.

Simulating, and only pressing F while doing so (no other keypress), gives me the following output:

I added the >>>>Forces Applied & Cleaned<<<<< bits for clarity, which comes from an overridden UCharacterMovementComponent::ApplyAccumulatedForces that just calls super + log that line (that what is does, at least to my understanding)
But the output is essentially the same without.

As you can see, once the timeline is finished (red cross), there’s no call to ApplyAccumulatedForces before nor after the Finished Timeline log entry.
Completely skipped.