Actions from 2 blueprints in Multiplayer

Hey, I’m looking to turn on the lights in my map from a button. Of course, I want them to turn on for all players.

In the Gamemode of the map, I created a TurnOnElectricity event that gets all the lights of the map, then I use setVisibility to turn on the lights.

Then I created an event in the Playercontroller of the map called TurnOnAllLights. I created an interface to the gamemode to avoid the cast. Then I call the function I created before, TurnOnElectricity. This event is executed on owning client and reliable.

Then, I created a button actor with a box collision, and when the box is overlapped, I also have an interface for the playercontroller. So I just called the function from the playercontroller.

So it works for the host, but it doesn’t work for the client. Also, I have the following error:

I’m pretty new to multiplayer. I’m trying to use the appropriate blueprint for this, but without success.

Try using GameState instead of GameMode. As @chrudimer mentioned, GameMode only exists on the server, whereas GameState exists on the server and on all the clients, so you can run a NetMulticast function on the server, and it will be executed on the server and all the clients.

Hi, GameMode only exists on the server, clients cannot access it. How is the overlap event in your third image triggered? If all the things taking part in that overlap are replicated the overlap should also happen on the server, then there would be no need for any replication and you can just do the logic on the server.

I created an interface to the gamemode
to avoid the cast