Writing Data to RDG Structured Buffer / General RDG Questions

Hey all!

I’m a bit new to Unreal and I’m working on writing some compute shaders. Currently I’m using RHI resources for the shader parameters and calling ENQUEUE_RENDER_COMMAND to actually run the shader, but I was hoping to utilize the new RDG features to keep everything (relatively) compatible with newer versions of Unreal, as well as cutting back on some of the boilerplate.

I’ve been having a bit of trouble finding resources about using RDG. Mainly, I’ve been looking at the RDG 101 Crash Course slides (Box), but there are a few things I haven’t been able to figure out:

1. Does pass creation and resource allocation need to happen in the render thread?
    FRDGBuilder requires an RHICommandList, so I’m assuming that it should be only be called in the render thread. In that case, does it need to be done using ENQUEUE_RENDER_COMMAND, or something else?

2. How can I pass data into a RDG buffer?

With RHICreateStructuredBuffer I was able to pass in data at creation time, or read/write directly after I did a RHILockStructuredBuffer. Would locking the underlying RHI data for the RDG buffer and writing directly be the correct method?

1. Are there any examples of working RDG compute shaders, or any more documentation?

I’m bound to have more questions in the future, so I’d like to find some working examples to reference. If anyone could point me in the direction of some more resources, that’d be a huge help.

After a bit more reading (I somehow missed that the slides contained a notes section with further explanation…) and looking through the engine source code, I’ve gotten some answers.

1. It appears that the graph builder should only be invoked from the rendering thread. I imagine that for a single execution, ENQUEUE_RENDER_COMMAND would be effective.