Would you call yourself a programmer if all you use is blueprints

This is something that crossed my mind. If you decide to use blueprint for a game all together and do your best to avoid C++ like the plague, would you just classify yourself as a video game designer and not a programmer. I’m new to the field so I just want to classify what is what for later purposes.

I would say Blueprint Developer, not programmer.

Not knowing how to use C++ is like not knowing to use no programming language, thus not being able to think the way a true programmer does (blueprints lack many features compared to code).

Semantics.

But

If a programmer is one who writes computer software, and If you write computer software which blueprints are, you are a programmer.

1 Like

Of course you’d be a programmer. The language or method you use is irrelevant if you’re doing the same things as other programmers. The concepts are the same, the logic is the same, the only difference are the tools you use and ultimately that doesn’t matter as long as it gets done.

I feel like calling a blueprint programmer not a “real programmer” is similar to calling a digital artists not “real artists” (compared to traditional artists).

1 Like

Agreed, its still coding/programming, its a little more limited ‘language’ than others but so is Basic or Python or Lua, amazing things can be done with them regardless.

Yeah depends of the context but I would not personally call a blueprint user a programmer in any context. With Unreal I would expect almost everyone (at least artists, designers, etc) in team to able to use em well enough to do trivial things. I would say franktech’s Office-macro example is pretty good comparison. Outside Unreal world blueprint skills have as much of meaning as secretary’s Office for advanced users certification.

Using blueprints is a much programming as using C++. But if you are a programmer or not depends on how much and to what level you do it.