Why is animation replication so hard

Hi,

yesterday, I started my first multiplayer project (also my first major c++ project.). Today I wanted to try and add some animations (pre-made, AKA I stole them all from a video game with a special file viewer.) I already know the basics of a state machine blueprint, so I made one of those and tried to sync it with some c++ code. I got it working for when a client sees itself (I’m going to remove the ability to see itself anyway so that doesn’t help much), but when other clients look at it, they just see the Idle animation. Now this was really interesting to me, because if I saw that one client couldn’t see another’s attacking animation, I would expect it not to see any of the client’s animation, but the Idle one showed anyway.

Anyway, I wanted the animation to replicate to all clients. Remember I’m pretty new at this stuff, plus I’m 14. I looked up some tutorials but they all would have required me to rework my code or looked super complicated. I don’t really feel like this should be that complicated, considering that if you can get Player 2 to move on Player 1’s screen, you should probably be able to get the bones moving pretty easily as well. I would really appreciate any help or advice.

I also forgot to mention, I know all the animations work from a separate project, so it’s not like a problem with the animations.

Note that the “movement mode” when replicating may be “networked” rather than “walking” or whatever, if you’re using the built-in Character controller.

In general, replication is no harder than normal controls, as long as the normal controls go through the player controller. The controlled Pawn then combines the observed movement/velocity of the pawn, as well as whatever states are set on it by the player controller (those states need to be made replicated!) and plays back the animations.