Why is alpha so bad for performance?

Hi. I have recently come from Cryengine and I am currently converting my project to Unreal Engine 4. The newest one. As much as I love Unreal over all other engines, although I am quite new to it, I am very curious why is alpha stressing engine so much? I am comparing everything to Cryengine with which I spent 6 years, so I don’t mean to offend anyone. I am just wondering if there is a way to fix it or is it the way it should be?
So… Our project will have a lot of fooliage… grass, trees etc. The problem is that alpha in Cryengine was like literally nothing to performance. Engine treated it like if it was non-existing performance-wise. Now we are converting to Unreal engine, but this seems to be obstacle, because in F5 view, alpha that has another alpha behind it seems to be extremely stressful (all alphas in red!) for the GPU I guess. Although I work on GTX 1080, but tested it on various machines. So… we have very low low low poly grass, literally 1 plane. But when we switch on the alpha, fps drop DRAMATICALLY. Is there a way to avoid it? I can’t seem to believe that engine that much more powerful and great than Cryengine has trouble handling that. So I thought there must be some trick. Thanks for any answers!

Any time you draw with alpha blending, you multiply the cost of that pixel by the number of layers of geometry you have, no matter what engine you use. Maybe the grass material used in Cryengine was a lot simpler than the one you are using in Unreal.

You need to use an opacity mask, if you aren’t already: https://docs.unrealengine.com/en-us/Resources/ContentExamples/MaterialNodes/1_8

In our own project we’re fading out all ground cover at around ~10 meters from camera to maintain an acceptable framerate. Never had to do such things in cryengine.