Why am I getting an Invalid Bind Pose error?

So I’m very new to animation and hardly have a clue of what I’m doing.
I just imported my skeletal mesh and I get an error saying that “FBX bind pose 'BIND_POSES” is invalid. It will be ignored". When I later try to attach an animation to this skeleton It gets cut up into tiny pieces and doesn’t look right.
I’ve exported the mesh from 3DS.

I’ve been trying to find help with this but I can’t really find any useful information.

Would love to get some help.
Thanks in advance!

-Tom

Do you mind sending your .fbx files (like your skelMesh and one animation)? I’ll be happy to take a look at it when I get a few minutes.

In the meantime, in the Skeletal Mesh import options, do you have ‘Use T0 as Ref Pose’ checked when you’re importing your mesh? I imagine you’ll get that bind pose error either way, but it may change what you’re seeing with your animation being all broken.

Thanks Ray!
Here’s a link to the mesh with the running animation Human4_anim4

I’ve tried importing it as a skeletal mesh and then an animation attached to the skeleton. First the animation imported laying on it’s back, I solved this by adding a root joint at 0,0,0. Now it gets imported with the right angle but it’s cut up into pieces like I said, and for some reason it doesn’t play the whole animation anymore (it worked fine before I added the root joint).

I tried the “Use t0 as Ref Pose” option and don’t get one of the errors saying “Warning the following bones are missing from the bind pose…” anymore but the mesh is still in pieces.
I did try to change translation retarget to skeleton on all of the joints instead which made the animation whole but it’s still not playing all of it and it’s in a weird position and size.

Here is the skeletal mesh that worked but didn’t have the root joint which caused animations to get flipped on their backs:

Here is an animation I used that worked but got flipped: