Where to find reliable sources regarding securing games against various hacker attacks and optimizing performance in Unreal Engine?

Hello, I’m currently working on my engineering thesis, and I’m having trouble finding good sources regarding the security of computer games, specifically discussing threats, security strategies, and anti-cheat systems. Additionally, I need information on optimizing games in Unreal Engine, as the documentation is quite challenging to understand. Please note that unauthorized and unreviewed sources (publicly available websites) should not be used.

You won’t necessarily find guides or documentation on cheat prevention. It’s common sense coding standards for the most part.

Never trust the client is rule 1.

1 Like

I’m currently studying cybersecurity, and I need to include something related to it. It’s going to be a real challenge now (and it has to be related to games because I have a game project and the entire thesis is based on it)

99.9% of anti-cheat built into games is simply having the server instance as authority on all things game play related.

If I want to sprint (change movement speed) I do so locally for responsiveness, notify the server. Server applies sprinting and compares end location for the move. If the servers differs (outside margin of error) it forces the client to its location.

That’s just one example. But in general that’s the majority of anti-cheat “in games”. Don’t trust the client, server is the man. Anything gameplay centric is governed by the “servers” code. Health, applied dmg, kills, scoring, inventory, doors, movement etc.

Server-side AC, which is heavily scrutinizing specific client actions is costly. Depending on the game it can drastically increase server costs in order to maintain stable performance.

Outside of that there’s 3rd party AC. Software strictly ran on the client checking for injections, code modifications, kernel/memory manipulation etc.

1 Like