What's your low poly modeling workflow? (Maya LT/Blender)

Hi,

I’ve just subscribed to Maya LT (all I can afford), and tried to do some asset modeling. I’m mainly a developer, so before I have only done a bit of modeling with Blender and GMax (back in the days). My workflow with GMax was to have a mirror copy of the model, then create cuts and extrude as needed. With Blender I have done the same, using the mirror modifier and then mostly creating loop cuts, extrusions, and occasionally creating new geometry by filling vertices or edges (with F).

So with Maya I try to do the same, using the modeling toolkit with symmetry enabled. Then I use Quad Draw to make loop cuts (with CTRL) and extrude. But frequently this breaks Symmetry for some reason. As soon as I create the cut, the Symmetry button becomes grayed out and trying to re-enable it doesn’t work. So it seems I either can’t do loop cuts or not use symmetry, both of which is rather frustrating. Trying to find some information about this, all I’ve found is some Steam discussion about Maya LT’s symmetry features being horrible, with known issues which aren’t fixed yet.

I’ve also noticed that many are now saying that Blender has very good modeling tools. So what I am wondering is, should I just stick with Blender and then export models to Maya for rigging? This seems easy enough, but before I do so I want to find out if I’m not just lacking some basic information about Maya. If it’s worth it, I would much rather spend the time to learn Maya properly and do it all in one tool.