What kind of computer is recomended

Hey, I am new to game design and need help trying to figure out what type of computer would be best for me to use. desktop or laptop, what brand, RAM, CPU, GPU…
Anything that can help me out will be helpful, I am planning on running UE4, Photoshop, and a couple other programs for 3D modeling and Gaming.

Hi there, welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

Here are the official recommendations from the FAQ:

The brands you choose are totally up to you, but I usually go with ASUS for motherboard, ASUS video card (I use a GTX 980 from Nvidia, but an AMD card will work just as well), Intel CPU, and Corsair or Kingston RAM.

To run multiple programs at once you will want to get 16gb of RAM. 8gb will work for a couple of programs open at once, but 16gb or more is recommended.

A lot of this depends on your budget and what kind of games you’re looking to make.
I would always recommend a desktop though.

So yes, what is your budget?

Make sure to take a look at this thread: https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?20643-Official-Hardware-Performance-Survey There you can find some good setups + how they run the UE4 :slight_smile:

I don’t really have a limited budget, so the price doesn’t matter to me

thanks for this information, it will really come in handy

Go with 32gb ram, clock speed is a lot less relevant than people thing, just make sure to get CAS latency 9 or bellow, that’s what really makes a difference. I always go with Corsair or Kingston for ram. A Decent graphics card like GTX 970 or 980 (both will handle UE great and you won’t really see much of a benefit in UE with 980 unless you plan on developing games that completely require a card like that. I usually go with Asus but the Gigabyte G1 version have steadily outperformed Asus’ Strix version in the latest cards so I went with Gigabyte this time.