What is a material, texture and normal map

Can some explain to me what each is used for, in beginner terms?

I think it’s like this:

1. A material is a 2D image that gets applied to a mesh to make it look like something (rock, brick, etc.).
  2. A texture is a 2D image that is used in the material editor to give the material surface detail (roughness).
  3. I don’t know what a normal map is for. I’ve read about it a little. Is it a method to give 3D models more detail without making them more complex?

Thank you.

I am a beginner too , but will try to explain things , as i think:

1. Material is not actually an 2D image. In a material you can use 2D images , to give the mesh or surface the look you are looking for. You can control the diffuse color, the reflection, refraction , opacity and a lot of other parameters. You can tweak all the parameters to achieve the result you are looking for.
  2. Textures are 2D images most of the time and yes they are used in the material editor to achieve different results, but most of the times when you are applying 2D texture to a 3D model you must “wrap around” that 2D image , by Unrapping the objects UVs or applying a simpler method of UV mapping(box, spherical, etc.)
    3)Normal mapping is a method of giving a 3D model more detail without the model actually having it. This is achieved by faking the lighting of bumps and dents, so if you want to preview your normal map you will need some lighting. Bottom line, you have more detail on the same low polygon mesh.
1 Like

You have the right idea but let me introduce you to a whole new world of possibilities: shaders.

A material is not a just 2D image, it’s a shader.
A shader in UE4 is normally written in HLSL (it’s a shading programing language) although the material editor makes this really easy so you don’t have to actually write any code :stuck_out_tongue: much like blueprints instead of C++.