Download

What do I need to create a classical (baldurs gate like) Rpg.

Hello everybody,

I am very sorry to bother some of you all with such a silly question, but consider me a total noob (when it comes to coding ) who maybe has some money and would like to invest into a dev
studio. I understand how one creates animation, lore, story, sound, music and rpg mechanics and all the other stuff, however i have no idea what in sort of code would I need ? Would it be hard for someone to do it ? How many hours ( Not precise ) of manpower am I looking at here and isnt there maybe a blueprint or a source code out there someone could use ?

So if I got it right my cRPG would need :
-movement
-Combat AI
-Interaction : traps/lootable containers/gates/mechanisms etc.
-Rest
-Abilities buffs/debuffs/spells
-dialogue system
-Character Customisation Look and progress
-an in house system when it comes to deciding a hit/miss/block etc.

How complicated is it to do those things, wherein lies the reall challenge ?

Sorry for the absolute noobish question I know im probably wasting someones time with it but I am really genuinely curious as I do not really understand code ( Lets make for example an absolutely stupid statement which probably can’t be or isn’t true but : Why isnt there just a blueprint code i could just copy paste and have all the features of the rpg done in a week or less ? for example an isometric tileset with a point and click movement code or something like that. As I said before I am a super noob to this therefore the question )

And yes I am somewhat desperate to ask here because even my coder friends can’t seem to answer my question. And I looked on the internet for answers but again to no avail.

Thanks to anyone who will find a bit of time to explain THIS to me like to a 4 year old. Thank you. Also english isn’t my mother tongue.

It is hard. What you described is what everyone thinks of doing.