Water - rivers - Heightmap

Hello all. I’m hoping there’s a genius or three out there.

After struggling with UE’s broken water system I finally bit the bullet and purchased a water system (WaterlinePRO). It’s great, but I only found out AFTER purchase that it has no current coding to serve as a river. Lakes and oceans, yes, but rivers… nope.

Undaunted (and refusing to tell my wife I spent $100 on something that doesn’t fit my needs LOL) I have been trying to make it work. It has TONS of customization when it comes to the water color and effects, and as you can see here it looks pretty good.

Except for where it doesn’t…

It doesn’t slope. It works on a flat plane only. I would LOVE to get it to work with splines but I am not experienced enough with UE to even fathom if this is possible. I would imagine it is, as I have seen splines used for a multitude of things, but moving rivers?

I reached out to the creator of the program and although he has assured me that there is no immediate plans on a river function but do hope to have them in the future (X_X) I may be able to “get something river like by modifying the infinite watersim actor’s water surface material in order to have flowmaps, but those will need to be made externally as well.”

This is gobbldygook to me. Is there an adult to help me with this?

Cheers in advance!

Hey there @RLK_III! Here’s a resource on flowmaps and applying them in Unreal! Hopefully the wife will be proud when she hears you’re not only adept at level design but also VFX and tech art! Which by the end of this journey, you very well may be. Combining the flowmaps for the material and making the master actor a spline based setup, you can likely adapt what they have to your needs!

Disclaimer: One or more of these links are unaffiliated with Epic Games. Epic Games is not liable for anything that may occur outside of this Unreal Engine domain. Please exercise your best judgment when following links outside of the forums.

1 Like