VR Blueprunt: Look an object for 3 seconds to activate

Hi everyone,
i’m a 3D VR environment developer, i work with 3DS Max and Unreal Engine 4 with the final purpose to dispaly everything with the OCULUS RIFT.
I Attached some screenshot of my work.

A client asked me to open the door of a refrigerator and turn on a tv, without the use of a controller, i mean just trough the OCULUS aim. (for example if i watch for around 3 sec the TV i turn on the TV! Simple to think , but i’m having some trouble with this.

How can i accomplish this goal?

I saw somewhere a little clock that appear whenever i watch a sensible target for some second without the help of a cursor o a Vive, I have to reach this goal!
I’ve also searched for some tutorial without any usefull resoult… there are any appropriate terminology or name to call this function/operation in Unreal Engine 4 Blueprint?
Can you help me? Thanks a lot for your time

Hi Alessandro,
you can watch the Look based interaction Tutorials by @mitchemmc on his YouTube channel Ep. 02 (part 1 to 6):

They are very comprehensive and explain everything in details.

Another option is to use one of the many plugins available, for example @runeberg Runeberg’s VR plugin, which implements gaze based interaction.

Last but not least, you can try a quick and dirty way to do it which is roughly the following:

• Parent to the VR camera, starting from its origin, a long thin cylinder (long enough to reach the objects you want to activate) and make it invisible. Make sure it triggers overlap events. This will be your gaze line.
  • Turn each mesh you want to interact with into an Actor Blueprint.
  • Inside the blueprint, use the On Actor Begin Overlap event to detect when the “hidden” cylinder is overlapping the object. This means the player is looking at that object.
  • When the overlap starts, you can make the object blink or get a highlighted contour to indicate it is reacting to the gaze.