Virtual Heightfield Mesh in spherical static mesh

Hello, I’m really new to all this virtual texture volumes, heightfield meshes and what not. I’ve been designing a procedural planet generator that was supposed to use displacement to generate bumps, but in UE5 displacement is not supported. My setup was going to be simple, a material that generated noise, and displacement that made height out of the noise. I’ve read that Heightfield meshes were supposed to replace displacement, but I’m not able to actually displace a sphere, it’s all a mess.

Any known ways to displace a sphere with Heightfield meshes? What am I doing wrong? Is this impossible achieve?

You probably need to do reading about heightfields and noise. Why did you use an Add to add the voronoi to the Lerp’ed voronoi and simplex noise? It would seem that wouldn’t produce a correct heightfield result because it’s like generating noise within noise, this case being voronoi (cel shapes) within voronoi or on top of voronoi. You probably need to specify for the Material Editor the axes to generate the noise, then vectors for the heightfield displacing. Otherwise, it has no information to process how to build noise into 3D bumpiness from the sphere mesh.

Sorry, I completely forgot to add an updated image of the nodes, I only showed the noise generation. I add 2 noise values to have terrain bumps with Voronoi and detailing with simplex. If you could point me to somewhere to read about heightfield mesh manipulation I’d appreciate it, cause I can’t seem to find good documentation on it.

Again, sorry for the misunderstanding. Am I on the right path at least? This gives me the result in my post above.

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=unreal+engine+virtual+heightfield+mesh