Vertex painting with 8+ textures (How can I achieve this?)

Im very new to unreal engine and materials, I was wondering how could I vertex paint with 8+ textures? I know how to vertex paint with 3-5 textures but how is 8+ textures possible?

Textures I want to use:

• Grass Ground
  • Grass with fallen leaves ground
  • Grass with rocks ground
  • Cliffs
  • Mossy Cliffs
  • Wet sand
  • Sand
  • Sand with rocks

Version 4.25.3

1 Like

Anyone have any ideas? I found out I need 12 textures to vertex paint

1 Like

You only have 4 vertex colors to use. Usually that’s one per texture.
if you want to use anymore than that you’ll have to work your own custom system using Frac to section off color values of the same channel above/below your preferred value.
its not impossible to pack in 12 different things given you have 256 shades of gray per channel you could potentially isolate. It’s just pointless because of the loss in performance.

So having 12 separate textures with normals and tessellation would cause performance problems? Is there a way I could have it and keep it optimized? Also how could I isolate colors for each texture?

I have no clue how to section off color values with Frac any ideas?, because this is not very good on performance is there a better way to paint 12+ textures on a mesh?

Painting 12 textures in a single mesh is bad. Period.

why don’t you just use an external 3d program to paint the object as you need / do you really need to be able to paint 1w textures on a single object at runtime?
its a bit past ridiculous.

frac and mod can help return integers/hard masks.

The base idea here is that you take the R from vector paint and you section it off. You can also use an IF statement.
values above X will display texture A, values below Texture B, values equal texture C.

Thats 3 texture per channel.

3x3 is 9, so that’s 9 textures you can use off r g b with IF nodes.
add 3 from alpha and you got your 12.