UV Texture Calculation

I’m always wondering on how UE calculate UV input in TextureSample node and TextureSampleParameter2D node. For example, if I have this simple PNG image below:

92724-colormap.png

If I input 1 vector/scalar value, then it will produce yellow color. If I input 2 vector/scalar value then it will produce yellow value as well. If I input TextureCoordinate node, then it will produce this same image, but can be tiled based U or V value.

The reason I’m asking this is that, in the Starter Content, there’s a material called cobble. If I apply that on a mesh, then it will produce an amazing 3D effect out of 2D image. I studied the material nodes calculation, but it’s very confusing. If anyone know how to explain this complicated material, please help me.

What I’m more concern is about the UV input in those texture nodes. How does UE utilize this input node anyway?

The following information has nothing to do with Unreal Engine specifically, but is more or less a basic explanation for triangle rendering.